Talking to K.C. Collins

Question: Tell me about “Not Yet Titled”

“Not Yet Titled” is kind of an inside joke. I have been working on this show for a little over a year and when I’m in the studio titles are the last thing on my mind. My previous solo show “Untitled” was in December 2008. Four years later I still haven’t come up with a fitting name. There’s something about a title that suggests finality, and for me painting is an on going process. With each painting influencing the next.

 

This body of work starts with the diptych “ History is hard to know”. What followed was an exploration of landscape and still life mixed with found objects and faint memories of places and things.  The ascending arrangement of the last painting in the show (Large box install) is a subtle nod to this process of work influencing work.

http://studio189.com/

Leave a Reply

