Talking to Michael A Garcia

Question: Tell me about the artwork in the “Changarrito project” 

o

Upon being asked to participate in the Changarrito project ( http://changarritoprojectwhat.blogspot.com/ ) I was concerned about how to translate my general body of work and creative process into something that can be sold. I’ve never produced works that were either 2D or for sale. To overcome the obstacle of being a conceptual 3D artist, who generally works in large scale, I had to adapt my usual product by creating found object installations and sculptural forms using altered images found online through virtual shopping and scrounging. The digitally manipulted images are then printed on transparencies and bound to plexiglass. I am happy that the final product still seems to capture the overall aesthetic of my other work and I especially like that shipping it is much more cost effective!  I’ve uploaded images of all the pieces at pinterest.com/mrmichaelme/my-work/.

 t
 Michael Anthony García will be selling these new works at Mexic-arte through the Changarrito project booth on
April 14th: 11:00-3:00 p.m.
May 19th & 20th: 11:00-3:00 p.m.
Mexic-Arte Museum of Art 
419 Congress Avenue  Austin, TX 78701
(512) 480-9373
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

