Talking to Terri Thomas

Question: Tell me about “Hedone”

With “Hedone”, I was positioning notions of feminine self-pleasure in the complex context of my own desires, our media-driven culture, opposing feminist theories and a patriarchal art history.

“Hedone” was about freedom, play, shamelessness, while full of uncertainties, contradictions and having a focus on materials. I had once read that “good art was genderless”, which became an impetus for my adding layers of artifice …a level of craft. The applied ornamentation was my first stab at a “gender- full” aesthetic. But I was also aware of the materials acting as a critical tool …defacement. So, while I was attempting to maintain a sincerity, honesty and exposure to my work, I was simultaneously creating parody and holding up a mirror to society.


Tagged

Leave a Reply

