Talking to Ashley Zelinskie

Question: Tell me about “Skin”

My Skin piece is one of my more interesting stories. After raising turtles for a few years i became interested in their skin shedding ritual. I began thinking about the metaphors associated with the shedding of skin such as renewal and change. The challenging part was finding a material that mimics skin. This took me back to my days in elementary school when painting your hands with glue was a common practice in art class. In my performance “Skin” I am forced to hold still as i am painted from head to toe in glue. After hours of layering and drying the skin becomes thick and constricting and the urge to tear through it becomes overbearing. As i peel the skin off the audience is struck with the painful process of removal which is relatable to the self inflicted pain and body modification of female beauty

processes.

“Skin”  performance

Tagged

Leave a Reply

