Talking to John Casey

Question: Tell me about “He Will Show Us the Way”
I was a Boy Scout when I was a wee lad. At the time, belonging to this organization was very important to me and I took the Boy Scout oath quite seriously. I remember feeling a great sense or responsibility as a member of society. My sculpture “He Will Show Us the Way” depicts a young Scout who lives in my alternate universe where residents suffer the affliction of emotional biomorphology (hence is weird root-like nose).  I, and other viewers, traverse this alternate world in the form of lost, disembodied spirits. We need guidance and direction and this young, serious, good citizen is more than willing to show us the way.

He Will Show Us the Way, 2008

Tagged

Leave a Reply

