Talking to Kelsey Brookes

Question: Tell me about “Two Cats One Canvas”

This painting was made for my first solo show, in Switzerland a few years
ago.  I was doing a lot of what I was calling “semi-sacred” images at that
point inspired by Hindu religious art.  I found images of animals that I
liked then images of human figures that I liked and cut and pasted using
Photoshop and painted the result.  Forced mutation maybe.  “Two Cats one
Canvas” ended up being one of my favorite pieces.  I think its
interesting, arresting and funny at the same time.  The tongue in cheek
title happened last minute but really finished the piece of nicely.

TwoCats

Two Cats One Canvas

Tagged

Leave a Reply

