Talking to Katy Heinlein

Question: Tell me about “Conveyor”

When I made “Conveyor”, I was really interested in Rube Goldberg machines and Miuccia Prada. I wanted to make something elegant, physical, and matter-of-fact that could easily cause a chain reaction of failure, but if successful, would seem like a feat. There are no connectors holding “Conveyor” together. Its installation requires a great deal from me–tugging and shoving a sand bag, 16′ board and unwieldy piece of foam into position from a ladder. This piece requires a lot of trust on the part of the viewer, which is something I try to engender with my work.

Conveyor.

Conveyor

Conveyor,  2007

Tagged

Leave a Reply

