Talking to Alejandoro Almanza

Question: Tell me about “Just Give Me A Place To Stand”

I got invited to participate in
a show at Soap Factory in Minneapolis by making a piece with
the materials I could find there.
When I arrived there  it was indeed a factory building with a basement full of stuff.
It was like a candy store for me, I had like 5 days to built the piece.
It was 5 days of great fun for me and stress for some people.
The piece was hold by 3 stressful points, which one was a lever system using
the weight of a plant.
Just give me a place to stand on and I’ll move the world,
it is a phrase said by Archimedes who was a pioneer in the leverage systems.
I always wanted to use that phrase
since it makes reference that there is no secure ground in anything
no matter how sure you are.

17_justgiveme

17_justgiveme2

17_justgiveme13

“Just Give Me A Place To Stand” 2007

Tagged

Leave a comment